Course 123 Overview
EDRIVE.TRAINING supports a systematic and progressive approach to teaching driving education.
The latest technologies and trends are utilized intensively, and available for online drivers ed. It has taken us many years to create a program that is easy for students, and at the same time effective for all types of learners.
The student will be advancing through 7 different levels. Each level will contain a classroom and driving section. When the student passes each level, they may move on to the next. The idea is to allow certain concepts to sink in, prior to "graduating" to the next level.
This program is easy to follow and allows teenagers to practice and retain what they learned in each level.
When are Texas students eligible for the permit exam?
Glad you asked! Texas students can take their permit exam when they have completed the first 6 hours of our program. Simply login to your account and continue where you left off. After you complete the first 6 hours of our program, you may begin studying for the exam. Take the permit exam at any time when you are ready.
When are Texas students eligible for the driver's license?
Another good question. Texas students are eligible to get the driver's license when they have completed our entire course. Texas law has required the student to complete 32 classroom hours, and 50 driving hours in order to complete this program. When you have completed this program, we will provide you with convenient online documents for you to print, and return to the DPS.
That seems like a LOT easier than course 101. What gives?
Nothing complicated here. It's just easier. A
What Are the Requirements for Taking this Course?
- Students must be between the ages of 14 and 17 to begin this course.
- This is a Parent Taught Program. Prior to beginning this course, the instructor must have a valid TEXAS driver license. The instructor can be a parent, stepparent, grandparent, step-grandparent, foster parent or legal guardian.
- Instrustors must have held a valide license for the past three years. Instructors who have not held a valid TEXAS license for the past three years can still be instructors, but a driving record from the previous state of residence will be pulled and examined to determine eligibility.
- Instructors who are active US military personnel (and their spouses) may participate if they hold a valid license from their state of active duty for the past three years.
- Active US military personnel and their spouse may participate as instructors if they hold a valid license from their state of permanent residence or last duty station for the preceding three years.
- Texas law requires a minimum of 34 driving hours with at least 10 hours at night.
- Parent eligibility requirements now include:
- Must have held a Texas license for the past three years
- Must not have any felony driving convictions
- Must have less than 6 points on their current driving record
- Must not be disabled because of mental illness
- Driving tests are mandatory for all new drivers.
- Graduated Driver Licensing restrictions on the newly licensed driver are effective for the first year on the minor's license. The restrictions include:
- No driving between midnight and 5 am except for emergencies and school or work related activities
- No more than one passenger under age 21 who is not a family member
- No use of wireless communications devices except in the case of an emergency
What hours can a student access an instructor for technical support?
Technical Support is available Monday to Saturday, from 08:00 to 19:00.
How long does it take to complete this course?
This online course takes no less than 32 hours to complete. Each page is timed, and will not allow the student to proceed without spending the required amount of time on the page. By Texas Law, students can only complete 2 hours within a 24-hour period.
How quickly will I get the certificate?
Your certificate will be available immediately after purchasing this program.